Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Career Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2014, 03:39 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3725 Times on 2283 Posts
Likes Given: 1224

Default Career Advice

So, I've posted a couple different threads similar to this before. But not quite the same, so I'm not re-opening them.

I am currently due to get out of the Marine Corps in the beginning of 2017. I can put in a request to get out up to a year early, which would make my EAS (End of Active Service) in early 2016.

I do plan on getting out. Few things you can say will persuade me to stay in. I've considered all the reasons for staying in already. I've also considered going into a different branch.

The military isn't what this post is about. It is about finding a job as a civilian. Not just finding a job, but having a job when I EAS.

My background is in Logistics. My current MOS is in a different field, and if at all possible I will be trying to get a job in my current field.

However, I am still working on my Bachelor's degree, and may or may not have it when I EAS in approximately two years. In my current field, it is very difficult to find a job without a Bachelor's degree.

So, I am considering working in the Logistics field when I EAS until I can finish my degree and work in my current field.

Can any of you give advice in this regard? What jobs pay better, what certs should I look into getting, etc etc etc. For what its worth, I will be living in NC near a large sea-port.

Always have clean socks.

Last edited by JW357; 02-17-2014 at 03:42 PM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.