Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Calling All Geeks.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2010, 04:34 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
gorknoids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 2,424
Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Thanks for the responses, folks. Just as soon as I send a hundred rounds downrange, I'm heading to the exchange to go shopping. Couldn't take any guns to the People's Republic of New York, so I need to go make some confetti!

__________________

"Guns don't kill people. Male Kennedy's kill people."

gorknoids is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:43 AM   #12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
gorknoids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 2,424
Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

With the intent of slaving the old HD to the new, I bought another Pavilion (Quad core) running Windows 7. Prollum is, neither drive will accept the role of "slave", so I'll need to have the old drive burnt to disk without the OS and load up the files. This frigging desk is beginning to look like a computer junkyard........

__________________

"Guns don't kill people. Male Kennedy's kill people."

gorknoids is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:51 AM   #13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Stafford, Virginia,The state of insanity.
Posts: 14,043
Liked 33 Times on 28 Posts

Default

What kind of a HDD is it. You can always just get a external drive case and put it in there then you can get your files. Once you get them off you just reformat it and you have an external drive to back up your computer too.


Search Results for SATA external drive case at TigerDirect.com

__________________
cpttango30 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 09:43 PM   #14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
gorknoids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 2,424
Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpttango30 View Post
What kind of a HDD is it. You can always just get a external drive case and put it in there then you can get your files. Once you get them off you just reformat it and you have an external drive to back up your computer too.


Search Results for SATA external drive case at TigerDirect.com
Thanks Brah! Other prollem is, everything is in parallel, hence the conflict. I'm having the data burnt without the OS so that I can just thumb-drive it onto the new CPU. Hell, I should be in business before Independence Day.......
__________________

"Guns don't kill people. Male Kennedy's kill people."

gorknoids is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 04:21 AM   #15
Kostriker
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bigcountry02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southwest
Posts: 6,064
Liked 1691 Times on 966 Posts
Likes Given: 3455

Default

You can go to tigerdirect, newegg, and mwave and purchase a case to handle a parallel ribbon and/or sata internal harddrive, case can be either 2.5 or 3.5 size.

To recover data from a drive I used "Bad Copy Pro" to recover some fils from usb drive and flash drive from my camera.

__________________
Bigcountry02 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 12:01 AM   #16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorknoids View Post
With the intent of slaving the old HD to the new, I bought another Pavilion (Quad core) running Windows 7. Prollum is, neither drive will accept the role of "slave", so I'll need to have the old drive burnt to disk without the OS and load up the files. This frigging desk is beginning to look like a computer junkyard........
You need to set the jumpers. Look for a short row of contacts with little square jumpers on them. The jumpers have to be in the proper position to "slave" a drive.

They'll be labeled, but likely confusing. I don't know what kind of drive you have, but here are the jumper settings for a few popular ones:

Western Digital

Seagate (now also Maxtore). Click on "Installation" and choose "jumper setting illustrations".
__________________
TheGunLady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 02:50 AM   #17
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dzscubie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: El Paso,Texas
Posts: 2,521
Liked 39 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

WTF ?????? Y'all speak english
!
__________________
"I never killed anyone who didn't need killing."
JW Hardin
Dzscubie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 04:43 AM   #18
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Last Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 400
Default

Some of the terms used, I never heard before. I take it you are calling IDE cables a parallel ribbon?
I don’t know anything about SATA drives, but I have not seen any HD that could not be set to slave.
The HDD drives have jumper settings for stand alone, master, slave, and cable select. The jumpers have to be set correct or it’s not going to work.
I agree the easy way to do it is get a external drive case

__________________

Death By Gun Control The Mother of All Stats
In the 20th Century, at least 170,000,000 people were murdered by their own governments -- more killed than by crime – more than killed by war.
http://jpfo.org/index.htm

Last Crow is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 05:11 AM   #19
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lukeisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 198
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts

Default

I have been building and repairing computers for about 20 years now. As well as programming. This is what I have learned. There are brands to stay away from. Dell, E-Machine, there are those that are mid line Compaq, HP Gateway etc. For a really excellent computer you need to step up to Toshiba or Sony. I would suggest checking out tigerdiret.com I have used them for years and never had an issue with them. As far as Win7 whatever every new OS has about 2 years before it is at its full potential. I am still using 2000 sever on my home server, with Vista on the laptops and XP on the desk top. All have their advantages and disadvantages. The only real reason they change OS is to keep the bottom line of the corp. Hope this helps.

__________________
lukeisme is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Calling all LEO's Wings-ofthe-Luftwaffe The Club House 11 12-04-2009 01:21 AM
Calling All (Soon To Be) Criminals sculker The Club House 1 02-28-2009 12:12 PM
Shot Calling metal408 Competition Shooting 2 02-15-2009 12:56 PM
Calling All Ga Members Adam5 Politics, Religion and Controversy 4 12-30-2007 10:09 AM