Bullet deformation
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Bullet deformation

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2009, 01:21 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Bullet deformation

Hi,

I've been working for a long time on a ballistics model to be used in a game. I have read quite a bit of material from material science to fluid dynamics to ballistics. I am by no means an expert, and have only rudimentary knowledge in most areas.

I am very close to finishing steady state and impact state ballistics, somewhat equivalent to what is more commonly known as external and terminal ballistics. However, I still have not finished the model for bullet deformation. The accuracy need not be great, and simple approximations are enough for my real-time purposes, so I've decided on the two following attributes:
  • deformation onset (m)
  • deformation rate (1/m/Pa)

Deformation onset is the neck of the permanent cavity, and deformation rate is simply the difference in length of a rod over a specific distance at a specific stress.

The follwing site gives me some ballistic cavitation profiles for various bullet (and there are probably plenty more sites), that I can use to approximate the behaviour of a bullet. However, this is in flesh, and does not account for how a bullet would behave in a different material, e.g. wood, concrete, or steel.

(1) Terminal Ballistics

The average shear strength of flesh is 0.4 MPa, and a specific structural steel 145 MPa, that's a huge difference. I would expect most soft bullet to shatter in a high velocity impact with steel, but how quick is the rate of change in deformation onset?

If a 5.45x39 mm Russian bullet has a deformation onset of 7 cm in flesh, as I increase the stress, how quickly would the deformation onset decrease? Would it decrease at all?