Anyone had a knee replaced ? - Page 4
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Anyone had a knee replaced ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2013, 04:47 AM   #31
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1603 Times on 1097 Posts
Likes Given: 557

Quote:
Originally Posted by havasu View Post
I've been using glucosamine and chondroitin for the last 4 years with no noticeable difference, except a thinner wallet. Yeah, I keep hoping, but it isn't happening.
It doesn't do much for horses either. Orthopedic treatments for horses work about 80% of the time in humans or vice versa. The studies for horses were a year or longer. A couple studies suggested that supplements might reduce the number of stone bruises and hoof cracks.

Nothing in the affairs of men is worthy of great anxiety - Plato

Old 12-20-2013, 08:07 AM   #32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1767 Times on 988 Posts
Likes Given: 1302

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Deer View Post
This out of left field. My dog has hip dysplasia. I thought I was going to lose her. The vet gave me six weeks of pain medicine for the dog and instructed me to start giving her glucosamine and chondroitin supplements every day. I have been giving her the supplements for four months now. She isn't 100% yet but she is better than I ever expected. She couldn't jump on the couch and had problems with the steps when the vet came out. Now she is jumping in the truck and chasing game again.

I have been walking her at least a mile every day. Making her walk on the leash forces her use her back legs in a controlled manner. She has lost a lot of muscle in her back legs and hips. I can't feel her hip bone any more and her legs are regaining muscle.