Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Anyone else gotten laid off?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2009, 01:39 PM   #21
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 42 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 11

This whole situation SUCKS! My heart goes out to you all of you that got laid off from this pointless CRAP.

Even with my being a self-employed professional engineer, I have been struggling to keep work comming my way. GM here in Arlington TX is still on shut-down, Bell Helicopter isn't doing much, and my biggest customer (Lockheed Martin) hasn't posted any sub-contract engineering bids since Sept. 08. I am very fortunate that my wife is a professional in the Metrology Industry, and she is very busy inspite the economy.

I think that those IDIOTS which voted Obama into office, really believe that Obama will "take care of them". These fools are in for a RUDE AWAKINING!

I sincerely hope ALL of you that got laid-off, furloughed, or fired, get back in the work-force soon and prosper!

Old 01-22-2009, 02:00 PM   #22

This may sound crazy but practice your interviewing skills. When interviewing the biggest mistake is focusing on your past duties or functions, rather focus on what your company benefitted from you doing those duties. Make sure these benefits are quantifiable.

For instance:

"At Kinkos I punched holes in the paper with a hole punch."

Or, "As as the hole puncher, I was able to increase the number of hole punches by 15 percent and that increased the companies profits by $5 per month.

If you were interviewing these two people that you don't know from Adam, which sounds better for the company you're hiring?

*Just a tip that you probably already knew, hope that can be helpful. Hang in there!

Old 01-22-2009, 03:56 PM   #23
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragunovsks View Post