Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Anybody have hobbies other than Firearms?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2010, 11:55 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Now THAT is truly an awesome hobby, dave! No 'Time, gentlemen' to contend with...no arsehole bouncers lol

I think everybody (that can) would drink to that

Old 01-02-2010, 12:29 PM   #12

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Some people say I've got way too many hobbies. Being a chronic insomniac has it's advantages, my days are just longer!

My main addiction has to be knives and anything to do with them (buying them, selling them, using them, reading or writing about them). I just love them. I'm not a true collector, since I couldn't leave a knife mint if my life depended on it. I love playing with them, sharpening them and modifying them.

I also breed horses with my dad, I used to do it for a living (polo and endurance horses), but I enjoy it more know. I can focus on my favourite horses (percherons postier) without having to worry about customers. I love taking long trips through the mountains on my horses, without seeing another human being for ten days or so.

I enjoy anything outdoorsy, but bushcrafting and practicing primitive skills is a favourite of mine (I'm a historian/anthropologist after all!). I carry a lighter, but I like starting my camp fires with flint and steel or a bowdrill just for kicks. I can spend hours making cordage or just whittling spoons and cups, a lot more fun than just reaching in my pack for paracord and my titanium mug! Hunting, fishing, hiking, I'll do about anything that allows me to get out and play in the woods.