Any watch aficionados? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > Any watch aficionados?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2014, 12:23 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3859 Times on 1864 Posts
Likes Given: 701

Quote:
Originally Posted by clr8ter View Post
OP, what is the thing with the Seiko black monster & the gray market?
I'm new to watch collecting so I'm not going to pretend like I'm an expert, and there might be more to this that someone else knows about, if so, chime in.
But in a nutshell, buying grey market is essentially buying from a non authorized dealer, which is fine for the most part, but you'll get a warranty through the seller and not the manufacturer. Not bad if you do your research on the seller before hand, but if you're buying say a $10,000 Rolex, theres a good chance Rolex won't repair the watch.

America has fought wars across the globe, because we kept our firearms while others let dictators take theirs...

Old 08-09-2014, 01:51 PM   #12

Liked 1983 Times on 1259 Posts
Likes Given: 1080

I like watches with screwed on bezel like the Audemars Royal Oak series or Hublot Big Bangs.
Unfortunately, I'm not quite at a position, financially, to own either at $17,000 and $25,000, respectively.
What's a handy guy do?
Mod an existing watch, of course.
I chose a watch, collected a few special tools and hardware and Voila!
My very own screw bezel watch!
What do you think?

File Type: jpg AP - SteelWhiteTap_Lg.jpg (31.3 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg hublot-1.jpg (31.3 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg KINDLE_CAMERA_1399115607000.jpg (29.7 KB, 19 views)

Silence is golden. Duct tape is silver.
You do the math.

Old 08-09-2014, 02:16 PM   #13

Liked 740 Times on 490 Posts
Likes Given: 791

Quote:
Originally Posted by c3shooter View Post