Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > 9/11...Do you remember what you where doing...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2011, 05:11 PM   #11
+ TRES VERBO DICTUM +
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1600 Times on 833 Posts
Likes Given: 1288

I was having a battery replaced at the dealer I just bought a car from when I found out. They had CNN on the showroom’s TV. Only one plane had hit at that time. I called my spouse at work and we met for an early lunch. I was a nursing student at the time doing clinical and had the day off. We both worked at the WTC in the distant past, before we knew each other, and we ‘commiserated’. Lots of anger was expressed.

I went to a blood bank satellite site to donate. I think there were two other donors doing paperwork and only three staff people there. The staff had heard something but didn’t understand the implications. I tried to explain during the interview they were going to get slammed, but they weren’t getting it.

I have thalassemia and they weren’t sure they could accept my blood. I knew my blood was okay but they wanted an approval from their supervisor back at the hospital so I had to wait. While waiting I started wrangling chairs from other offices and waiting rooms and lined them up out the bank’s door and down the hall. They thought I was nuts until other people started showing up.