Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > The Club House > .45 acp and 9mm handguns

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2008, 07:21 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default .45 acp and 9mm handguns

Hey all.
As you all know I am a noob to the gun world and have had VERY little opportunity to shoot different gun types and calibers. Up until earlier today I had only shot various .22 lr rifles and a Ruger mkII .22 lr handgun (lots of fun).

Today I had the opportunity to shoot a Ruger .45 acp handgun and an Arcus 9mm handgun.

I must say that I did NOT like shooting the .45. I was intimidated by it's power and sheer force and I wasn't wearing hearing protection! This was a BIG mistake.
I am NOT kidding it hurt my ears so bad I stopped and started putting my hands over my ears. The shots were so loud my ears started ringing instantly. And it seriously physically hurt as well. Now all day I have felt as if I have an earache in both of my ears. NOT cool. I did not enjoy the experience at all and was uncomfortable shooting a gun that powerful. Not the recoil so much but even that was bad enough I doubt I will be owning one any time soon. Perhaps I will "work up" to larger calibers.....

The 9mm on the other hand wasn't too bad. I wish we hadn't brought out the .45.....after my buddy ran through a clip and I took a few shots with it my ears were hurting so bad I just wanted to go home.

Anyway, yeah. The 9mm wasn't as bad as far as recoil or ear piercing volume. I am planning on asking to take it out again just by its self to get in some more time with it. I will also be wearing hearing protection the next time I fire it up.